Prof Anil Kumar

Chair, Wellness Centre Committee

Dean, Undergraduate Program & Professor of Physics, IISc

P. S. Anil Kumar joined the Department of Physics of Indian Institute of Science in 2004. He is an associate faculty of CeNSE. He is currently a Professor of physics and the Dean of the prestigious undergraduate program of IISc.


Mr. Sreedhar BN

Member Secretary, Wellness Centre Committee & Deputy Registrar, IISc

Mr. Sreedhar BN is the Assistant Registrar dealing with the administration of IISc Health Centre and Wellness Centre.


Advisory board

Dr. Ajit Bhide

Dr. Ajit V. Bhide is currently the head of the Department of Psychiatry at St. Martha’s hospital in Bengaluru and a psychiatrist in private practice. He has served as a faculty at St. John’s Medical College and NIMHANS Bengaluru, was the past president of Indian Psychiatric Society and founder president of Indian Association of Private Psychiatry (Karnataka Chapter).

Dr. V. A. P. Ghorpade

Dr Ghorpade has a Masters in Psychological medicine degree from NIMHANS, and a Diploma in psychological medicine from Madurai Kamraj University.  He has more than 37 years of experience in the fields of clinical psychiatry, research and teaching. His main interests are Psychotherapy, Sexual medicine and General Psychiatry.

Dr Ghorpade is also a consulting psychiatrist at the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru.

Dr. Vyjayanthi Subramaniyan

Dr. Vyjayanthi Subramaniyan is currently an Associate professor in the department of Psychiatry MS Ramaiah Medical College and Hospitals. She is an alumna of Bangalore Medical College and NIMHANS. She is a recipient of the Dhruva Kumar award by the Indian Psychiatric Society. Her areas of professional interest include: trauma and neuronal changes, adult survivors of Child Sexual Abuse, depression and suicide prevention clinic.

Dr Vyjayanthi is also a consulting psychiatrist at the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru.

Dr. Naren P Rao

Dr Naren P Rao is currently an Additional professor in the department of Psychiatry, National Institute of Mental health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru. Previously, he was a DST-INSPIRE faculty at the Centre for Neuroscience, IISc and a postdoctoral fellow at Research Imaging Centre, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada. He has been honoured with numerous awards, including DBT-Innovative Young Biotechnologist, Canada Hope scholarship, etc.


Faculty representatives

Dr. S.N. Omkar

Chief Research Scientist, Aerospace Engineering



Dr. Suja Elizabeth

Chief Research Scientist, Department of Physics

Dr Suja Elizabeth is actively involved in guiding research scholars, teaches graduate and undergraduate students, and has mentored several undergraduate/Integrated PhD students. She is also involved in many outreach programs to popularize science. Currently, she also serves as a member of the Institute’s Safety Committee.



Dr. Varsha Singh (MRDG)

Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics.

I received my PhD from IISc in 2005. Research (and my children) continues to be the reason I wake up every morning and go about my day. While I have absolutely enjoyed every moment of my science and always say ‘I chose the right career’, I have had my share of stress, stomach ulcers and loads of uncertainties as a student and now as a faculty member as well. I deal with them by talking to friends, mentors, reading sci-fi and getting back to experiments. We need a support system, for student and for faculty, the one that lets you know that it is okay to say ‘’I have stress’’, ‘’I might be depressed’’, ‘’I do yoga’’ and ‘’I need professional help’. We, at the Wellness Center, want to make wellness accessible to everyone at IISc. We are listening to you, and learning to help us all. Website:


Dr. Vishwesha Guttal (CES)

Associate Professor, Centre for Ecological Sciences

Vishwesha’s research interests are in theoretical ecology. He has served on many student committees at both the departmental and Institute level. Together with colleagues, he established a workplace wellness committee at CES. Currently, he is also a member of Student affairs committee, KVPY core-committee and IISc-Biology seminars committee.



Health Centre Representatives

Dr. C. Satish Rao

Officer-in-charge, IISc Health Centre

Dr. R. Nirmala

Medical Officer, IISc Health Centre

Dr Nirmala. R (Medical Officer, Indian Institute Of Science)

Dr Nirmala joined as a Medical Officer at the Indian Institute of Science in 2007. She got her MBBS from the Madras Medical College, Chennai. She obtained Diplomas in family medicine from Christian Medical College, Vellore and in geriatric medicine. Her areas of interest are in dementia in the elderly and dementia care.

Dr. Aditya Malladi

Medical Officer, IISc Health Centre

Dr. Neethi Ravindran

Medical Officer, IISc Health Centre


Mr. B. G. Shridhar

Clinical Psychologist, IISc

Sridhar is a mental health professional, with experience in counselling, therapy and psychological assessments. He completed his masters in clinical psychology and worked on “Emotional intelligence and perceived stress” as a part of the program. He has worked as a clinical psychologist in a psychiatric setup for nearly six years, has done online counselling and has also taught at universities.


Ms. M. S. Savitha

Clinical Psychologist, IISc, IISc

Savitha M S is a clinical psychologist at IISc. She got her M.Sc. from Bangalore University, and obtained a license as clinical psychologist from RCI. She had extensive internships in many hospitals including NIMHANS, Bangalore. She has been practising psychology from the past six years in different hospitals and has experience of working with children, adolescents and adults, with psychological assessment, testing and therapy.